
Request to become a  
Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian 

in Mississippi 

To become a Trichomoniasis Certified Veterinarian, complete the 
training requirements and send this completed form to:   

Dr.  Nancy Jackson 
Mississippi Board of Animal Health 
PO Box 3889    Jackson, MS  39207 
nancy@mdac.ms.gov 

Certification is good for a period of five years.   

Veterinarians can complete the training by either attending a live training session or by 
completing the training module on-line.  

As a licensed and accredited veterinarian, I wish to be certified to collect and submit samples 
for bovine trichomoniasis in Mississippi.   I have received training in trichomoniasis disease 
epidemiology, diagnostic testing, and control through the MS State Veterinarian’s office.  

A copy of my test or certificate of completion is attached to this request.  

Printed name:  _____________________________________   Phone: ________________________ 

Address:  ___________________________________________________________________________ 

City/State/Zip:___________________________________  Email: ___________________________ 

USDA Accreditation #______________   MS License #:  ______________ 

Signature:  ______________________________________Date:  _____________ 

Training date: __________ Method: _____ Online  ____ In person by: _____________________ 

State Veterinarian’s office approval:  Test Score:  ________/12 

Signature:  _____________________________________ Date:  __________________ 

Printed name:  __________________________________ 

Definitions: 

Accredited veterinarian – a veterinarian approved by the APHIS administrator in accordance with the 
provisions of 9 CFR, part 161, to perform functions required by State-Federal-Industry cooperative 
programs. 

Trichomoniasis - certified veterinarian - an accredited veterinarian who has completed a Mississippi 
trichomoniasis training program and is certified with the Mississippi State Veterinarian to collect and 
submit samples.   

mailto:nancy@mdac.


Certification Test 

1. In Mississippi, a bull is considered a virgin bull if ________:
a) It is less than 18 months of age
b) it is less than 24 months of age
c) It has not been with breeding-aged females
d) both a & c are true
e) Both b & c are true

2. Which of the following is considered an official trichomoniasis test in bulls according to the
MBAH? _______

a) A single PCR
b) a single culture
c) an ELISA test
d) A serum antibody test
e) a complete breeding soundness exam (BSE)

3. In MS, in order to submit samples for trichomoniasis testing, the submitter must ______:
a) Be licensed to practice veterinary medicine
b) Be Category II accredited through the USDA
c) Pass the MS Bovine Trichomoniasis Control Program certification test
d) Meet all of the above requirements

4. As of April 1, 2020 the sale or transfer of bulls within the state of Mississippi requires a
negative trichomoniasis test:

a) Within 7 days of sale or transfer
b) Within 30 days of sale or transfer
c) Within 60 days of sale or transfer
d) Within 90 days of sale or transfer
e) Never – only bulls moving interstate need trichomoniasis testing.

5. As of April 1, 2020 bulls over 18 months of age sold at the stockyards:
a) Must be trichomoniasis tested to go back on-farm
b) Must be sold for slaughter only if not tested
c) May be tested at sale and kept under quarantine
d) Can be disposed of in any of the above ways.

6. The tritrichomonas foetus organism _______.
a) Is easily detected in infected animals.
b) Survives well in the outside environment.
c) Only affects males.
d) Does not infect bull younger than 2 years of age.
e) Is spread through sexual contact.

7. Animals should be sexually rested for a minimum of ______ before testing.
a) 1 day
b) 4 days
c) 7 days
d) 14 days
e) 21 days

_____

_____



8. The appropriate pipette length used in sample collection is ______.
a)10 – 18 inches
b) 18 – 22 inches
c) 26 – 30 inches
d) 32 – 36 inches

9. The proper technique for collecting samples for trichomoniasis testing includes ______.
a) the use of saline containing antibiotics to clean the prepuce before scraping
b) using brisk strokes, collecting near the penile orifice
c) that the sample be opaque from cellular debris
d) after collection immediately packing collected samples on ice

10. Non-incubated samples must reach the diagnostic laboratory within ______ of collection.
a) 24 hours (1 day)
b) 48 hours (2 days)
c) 72 hours (3 days)
d) 94 hours (4 days)
e) 120 hours (5 days)

11. The proper incubation temperature and time to follow when using the pouch system is _____.
a) 82.4 – 96.4 degrees for up to 72 hours (3 days)
b) 82.4 – 96.4 degrees for up to 120 hours (5 days)
c) 96.8 – 100.4 degrees for up to 48 hours ( 2 days)
d) 96.8 – 100.4 degrees for up to 96 hours (4 days)
e) 100.4 – 106.8 degrees for 48 hours (2 days)

12. Proper shipping of samples should include ______:
a) freezing samples prior to shipment
b) shipping samples on ice
c) overnight shipping
d) pooling samples
e) payment
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